It’s Time For Some Moyo Magic!

Hi guys!

I know I have been rather quiet the last 2 weeks. My wife and I went to Israel for her brother’s barmitzvah and we only just got back to South Africa. The trip was amazing albeit incredibly hot and humid (and I don’t handle well with either of the 2), but we ate amazing food AND I even performed for people, which was really a treat for me and for them 🙂

Last night we decided to meet up with some friends at the Waterfront for Haagen Dasz ice cream and then Moyos for cocktails. Haagen Dasz weren’t that busy so I took the opportunity to show the lady at the till some coin magic and she absolutely freaked out. Someone wanted to pay for their ice cream and she told them to hold on because she was in the middle of a freak-out session (luckily that customer was part of our crew so she understood what was going on). There should be a hashtag soon about this….. oh there it is: #FreakOut! (it’s the little things that amuse me) Anyways so I left her my card and onwards we went to Moyos where more victims awaited the Magic Of Greg Gelb… #Moowahahahaha (Lee-Ann would say now I am overusing the hashtag concept… #mmmm #DecisionsDecisions)

Moyos is this chilled restaurant, very africany with couches and bean bags outside and because it is winter we insisted on blankets and I wanted a pillow to nap with because it just seemed appropriate – okay so I never got my pillow but I did chill on a bean  bag! I had a mojito and I guess there are still remnants of it in my system as I type this post lol.

Every now and then I try my luck at putpocketing. I first learned about this concept from Apollo Robbins at the 2010 Essential Magic Conference, where one uses misdirection to put things in people’s pockets without them realising. It is the opposite of pick pocketing as I am sure you have figured out. So at Haagen Dasz I put a coin in my friend’s jacket (later to magically appear in his coat) and I put another coin into Franco’s apron pouch (he was our awesome waiter). Franco loved the magic. I made a coin become invisible and then visible and magically threw the coin in his pouch. He was…. wait for it…. #FreakOUT!!! I showed him my ACR and I decided to use a new ending with a mercury fold and a production from my mouth – do I need to do another hashtag freak out? Nah  you can imagine it.

I went inside to the barman, Chico and showed him some of my coins including an abridged version of my coins through table as well as a little romantic card effect with 2 hearts joining together and my ACR with mercury fold finish and he also hashtagged. So I was on quite a high from it all (one of the few legal ways to get high kids).

Photo: Moyo vibes on#Motsash

At Moyos, the waiters paint your face all african style.

Photo: Face-paint selfies.

a close-up of our painted faces

Lee-Ann has been wanting me to get into the restaurants to perform and I guess that is the whole reason for this blog post but I summoned the manager (not really – I politely asked a waiter to call him for me if he wasn’t busy), and 5 minutes later after my ACR routine (obviously Joshua joined the hashtag club and freaked out), I told him what I do and he agreed with me that Moyos customers need some entertaining whilst they wait for their food. Another waiter who was watching said that Moyos need someone like me. So I gave him my card and told him to chat it out with the other managers and if they feel this is something they believe will benefit Moyos then they must call me. It all seemed very positive.

So that was my night – great, fun and magical! I hope you all had/are having/will be having a fantastic weekend where ever you are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Archives

Leave a Reply

